About Us

Imagination, innovations and finally inventions, have marked the progress of man at each step of evolution.

Equipped with the latest and the best R&D facilities, highly qualified scientific & technical personnel & regular education, training and developmental activities. PERD, today is an internationally recognized research institute, providing the Pharmaceutical industry and Academia the opportunity and resources to undertake the latest in research and development.

In October 1990 the B. V. Patel Education Trust in conjuncture with the Indian Pharmaceutical Association established B. V. Patel Pharmaceutical Education & Research Development (PERD) Centre, in the memory of late Mr. B. V. Patel, the first Drug Controller of Gujarat.

Started with the express aim of providing the Pharmaceutical industry and academia the opportunity and resources to undertake the latest in research and development, PERD Centre is India's first multidisciplinary, postgraduate research institute, promoting advanced research, services and training in the field of pharmaceutical sciences.

A non-profit organization, PERD Centre acts as a supportive partner to the pharmaceutical industry and academia, providing the facilities and resources to undertake the latest in research and development.

As an industry-academia-government collaboration, PERD offers

  • Well equipped laboratories and research facilities
  • Expert services of scientific and technical personnel
  • A well stocked, spacious library
  • Regular education, training and developmental activities


The B. V. Patel PERD Centre Trust was established on 3rd July, 1988 by Shri B. V. Patel Education Trust which consists of a Chairman, Secretary and nine members from many well known scientists/industrialists.

The present Chairman and Secretary of the Trust are Shri Anant R. Thakore, Managing Director, Avik Pharmaceuticals, Mumbai and Shri Pankaj R. Patel, Managing Director, Zydus Cadila Healthcare, Ahmedabad, respectively. The activities of the centre are overseen by the Board of Trustees, with the Chairman of the Trust as the Chairman of the Centre.



Dr. S. P. Adeshara


Mr. Girish N. Patel


Mr. Pankaj R. Patel Mr. H. G. Koshia Mr. R.R. Shah Mr. Raojibhai P. Patel



Mr. Anant R. Thakore


Mr. Pankaj R. Patel


Mr. D.B Mody Shri Anangbhai A. Lalbhai Shri Rajivbhai C. Lalbhai Shri Shreyansbhai S. Shah Dr. A.K. Shukla Dr. Dushyant R. Patel Dr. Dineshbhai S. Patel Mr. Dilip Shanghvi Shri Sanjay Lalbhai Mr. D.B. Gupta Shri .Sudhir Mehta


Prof. H.L. Bhalla December 1990 - April 1996
Dr. Anisha Pargal May 1996 - March 1998
Dr. V.C. Shah
( Acting Director )
April 1998 - March 1999
Prof. Harish Padh March 1999 - December 2010
Prof. C.J. Shishoo
(Acting Director)
July 2010 - September 2010 &
April 2011 - February 2012
Dr. Jyotikumar Paliwal October 2010 - April 2011